Lionbridge Review

I was reading the internet today and saw a review were a guy who didn’t work for LB completely dissed the program. I cannot say much but let me say this. I’ve been with them for a few years and if they fired me tomorrow ( knock on wood ) I would still agree that they are one of the best WAH companies to work for. Why are they great?

1. They pay more starting out and after you are promoted to Senior Rater than 99% of the WAH jobs I’ve seen.

2. There is no upfront cost. All you need is a PC, internet, and a browser.

3. My pay has always been on time. I will admit I’ve heard of people who weren’t, but doesn’t every HR dept mess up? Doesn’t every employee who doesn’t receive their check on time screen Bloody Mary? lol

4.Once learned the work is easy. Do you have to study on your own time to learn your job? Yes. I would estimate that to truly learn the material you will study 10 hours before you are hired and another 10 – 20 hours after. With practice and repetition after a few months you will no longer need to revert to your materials as much and you will only work.

5. You get to work at home on your time schedule and as much or little as you like. You can work for just 7 hours a week and make more than most PT jobs in the real world.

So before you look at these horror stories, remember they are the anolomies not the standard. I know plenty of people who have been employed with LB for 3plus years and are happy. I’ve read countless stories of people who have work for LB for 1 -3 months and couldn’t cut the mustard so now they blame LB instead of blaming themselves for losing their job.

Now for reasons LB sucks”

1. It’s tedious. After the 1st 6 months it’s really boring. You know how to rate and it’s not challenging.

2. If you have a FT job it’s a pain to work it. Trust me I work 40 hours a week and then try to average another 10 hours a week. A 50 hour work week is longer whether 10 of it is at home or not.

3. Quality scores are a pain. They can be confusing and you have to just do the best you can. Sometimes it can get frustrating when you get feedback that contradicts with previous feedback. I advised that you attempt the webinars and ask your questions there. You’ll get a better response.

Hope this helps.

Leave a comment